8 comments on “Night Drive

  1. My mind kept telling me that one of your past lives was bleeding through… from a time when you may have walked past cabins in the woods with a lantern. And the eeriest sentence for me was one that is simple and sounds so innocuous standing by itself:

    When you drive the desert, everything seems so much closer to you, especially at night.

    Even that observation makes me think of a past life bleeding through.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Karen…one never quite knows…and I pretty much still remember that drive like it was yesterday…especially seeing that dead body OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE…along the shoulder of the road. Eerie. And driving Sonora Pass was also quite revelatory! I also do feel I may have had a past life or three “out in the woods,” as you mention…I do feel quite the affinity for that environment. Thanks for that lantern imagery! Quite the curious image….

      Like

  2. Pingback: Short Story Listing | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  3. Pingback: And Now…I Will Leave You…. | Runnin Off at the Mouth....

  4. Pingback: Night Driving | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  5. Pingback: Frozen Branches | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  6. Pingback: Wind and Snow | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

  7. Pingback: The WYO Road Trip | Runnin Off at the Mouth….

Leave a Reply

